Tax And Licensing Deadlines

License Renewal or Tax Report And payment Due Date Penalty, Interest For Late Payment
Business License Renewal
January 31st of the new license year. 10% penalty from February 1 - February 28. 20% Penalty beginning March 1.
Sales, Consumer's Use, Seller's Use, Lease/Rental, and Lodgings Taxes
Due on the 20th of the month for the preceding month. If 20th is on a weekend or City Holiday, then due the next day Revenue office is open.

​ If using electronic payment via My Alabama Taxes the deadline is 4:00 PM on the 20th of the month for the preceding month's taxes to avoid penalty.
10% penalty, interest is applied to the  overdue tax at the prevailing rate prescribed by the Alabama Department of Revenue. 

Interest rates are updated quarterly, click here to find the latest interest rates.

Quarterly Liquor Tax
Due on January 15, April 15, July 15, and October 15 for the preceding quarter.
10% penalty for late payment after 30 days, 20% penalty for late payment after 60 days.
Residential Lease Tax Due on January 15 for preceding period of
July 1 - December 31.

Due on July 15 for the preceding period of January 1 - June 30.
10% penalty for payment after 30 days from beginning of new period.

20% penalty for payment after 60 days from beginning of new period.