Go To Search
FacebookTwitter
Traffic Violations

Alabama traffic laws are defined in Title 32 of the Alabama Code. Most traffic laws relate to the operation of motor vehicles upon public roads.

All violations of Alabama traffic laws are charged on a uniform traffic citation form (ticket). By signing the ticket you are promising to appear in court. You are not admitting guilt. Failure to sign the ticket will result in your arrest.

Traffic Citations
Traffic citations are divided into two categories as described below:

Court Appearance Not Required Citations

If you have a "court appearance not required" citation and would like to take care of it without appearing in court, you may do so by appearing in-person at the court office and entering a plea of guilt to the traffic offense. At that time you will pay for the citation (see fine schedule). This must be done at least 24 hours in advance of your court date.

You may pay your citation online or remit your plea and payment by mail. We must receive such plea and payment within our Municipal Court office at least 24 hours before your prescribed court date - postmark dates will not be honored as meeting the deadline. You may mail your plea and payment to:
Hoover Municipal Court
2020 Valleydale Rd.
Hoover, Alabama 35244

If you do not want to plead guilty to the citation, please notify the court at least 24 hours in advance or you must appear on your court date to enter a plea before the judge. At that time, your case will be continued to another date in a pre-trial setting.

Court Appearance Required Citations

If your citation requires a court appearance, you must appear in court on the court date listed on the citation. You will appear before the municipal judge and enter a plea on the charge. If you plead guilty, the judge will determine your fine amount and you will be able to pay the fine at that time. If you plead not guilty, your case will be continued to a trail court date.

If you do not know whether or not your citation requires a court appearance, you may contact the Hoover Municipal Court or you may check the fine schedule. If you do not see your citation listed on the fine schedule, please contact the court offices at 205-444-7526.

If you are a first-time traffic offender, you may be eligible for the city's Defensive Driving School program, which may allow you to keep a clean driving record.